Christian Music News

The 44th annual GMA Dove Award's nominations announced

NASHVILLE, TN – The Gospel Music Association (GMA) announced today, from Allen Arena on the campus of Lipscomb University, the nominees in 42 categories for the 44th Annual GMA Dove Awards. The awards show will take place on Tuesday, October 15, 2013 at Allen Arena on the campus of Lipscomb University in Nashville, TN at 7:30pm CT. The show will be broadcast on Monday, October 21st at 8:00ET exclusively on the UP! Television Network. Voting for the final winners will run from September 3rd through September 24th. All tabulations certified by the independent accounting firm, Kraft CPAs PLLC.

Additionally, key partners for this year’s show were announced including Food for the Hungry, Official Humanitarian Partner; Cantinas Ranch, Nominee Lunch Partner; Kia Motors, Dove Cares Red Carpet and HearitFirst.com, Technology Partner. Hearitfirst.com will live stream the red carpet, pre-telecast and other non-broadcast show activities.

The nominees in 22 categories were revealed today during the press conference and the remaining categories can be found at www.doveawardsvoting.com/nominees. Included here are five of the top categories announced today.

Artist of the Year
Chris Tomlin, sixstepsrecords
Francesca Battistelli, Fervent
Lecrae, Reach Records
Tamela Mann, TillyMann
TobyMac, ForeFront Records

New Artist of the Year
Capital Kings, Gotee Records
Colton Dixon, Sparrow Records
for King & Country, Fervent
Rhett Walker Band, Essential Records
Tasha Cobbs, EMI Gospel

Song of the Year
“10,000 Reasons (Bless the Lord)”, Matt Redman, (writers) Matt Redman, Jonas Myrin
“All I Can Do (Thank You)”, Mikeschair, (writers) Mike Grayson, Ben Glover, David Garcia
“Break Every Chain”, Tasha Cobbs, (writer) Will Reagan
“Forgiveness”, Matthew West, (writer) Matthew West
“From My Rags To His Riches”, Devin McGlamery featuring Dailey & Vincent, (writers) Ernie Haase, Wayne Haun, Joel Lindsey
“Greatly Blessed, Highly Favored”, Gaither Vocal Band, (writers) Larry Gatlin, Bill Gaither
“Hold On”, Canton Junction, (writer) Gerald Crabb
“I’m Learning”, Aaron & Amanda Crabb, (writers) Lee Black, Michael Fordinal, Kenna West
“Live Like That”, Sidewalk Prophets, (writers) Dave Fray, Ben McDonald, Ben Glover
“Need You Now (How Many Times)”, Plumb, (writers) Tiffany Arbuckle Lee, Luke Sheets, Christa Wells
“Not For a Moment (After All)”, Meredith Andrews, (writers) Meredith Andrews, Jacob Sooter, Mia Fieldes
“One Thing Remains”, Kristian Stanfill, (writers) Brian Johnson, Christa Black Gifford, Jeremy Riddle
“Redeemed”, Big Daddy Weave, (writers) Mike Weaver, Benji Cowart
“Sometimes I Wonder”, Ernie Haase & Signature Sound, (writers) Ernie Haase, Wayne Haun, Joel Lindsey
“Take Him To The Place”, Aaron & Amanda Crabb, (writers) Aaron Crabb, Amanda Crabb
“Take Me to the King”, Tamela Mann, (writer) Kirk Franklin
“The Proof of Your Love”, for King and Country, (writers) Joel Smallbone, Fred Williams, Luke Smallbone, Ben Glover, Mia Fieldes, Johnathan Lee
“What The Blood Is For”, Jason Crabb, (writers) Ronnie Freeman, Tony Wood
“Where I Belong”, Building 429, (writers) Jason Roy, Jason Ingram
“Whom Shall I Fear (God of Angel Armies)”, Chris Tomlin, (writers) Chris Tomlin, Ed Cash, Scott Cash
“Why Can’t We”, The Isaacs, (writers) Rebecca Isaacs Bowman, Sonya Isaacs, Jimmy Yeary

Songwriter of the Year
Ben Glover
Benji Cowart
Matt Redman
Toby McKeehan
Wayne Haun

Inspirational Film of the Year
Amazing Love: The Story of Hosea, (director) Kevin Downes, (producers) Daryl LeFever, Rich Christiano
Christmas With A Capital C, (director) Helmut Schleppi, (producers) Michael Scott, James Chankin, Peter Yoder
Courageous, (director) Alex Kendrick, (producer) Stephen Kendrick
Jerusalem Countdown, (director) Harold Cronk, (producers) James Chankin, Michael Scott, Matthew Tailford, David A.R. White
Love Begins, (director) David S. Cass Sr., (producers) Erik Heiberg, Lincoln Lageson
MONUMENTAL: In Search of America’s National Treasure, (director) Duane Barnhart, (producers) Duane Barnhart, Kirk Cameron, Angela Alvarex
October Baby, (directors) Andrew & Jon Erwin, (producers) Dan Atchison, Justin Tolley, Jon Erwin, Andy Erwin
The Bible, (directors) Tony Mitchell, Crispin Reece, Christopher Spencer, (producers) Lightworkers Media, Hearst Productions
Travel The Road: Season One, (directors) Will Decker, Tim Scott, (producers) Will Decker, Tim Scott
Seven Days In Utopia, (director) Matt Russell, (producers) James Berman, Mark G. Mathis

“Congratulations to all the nominees of the 44th Annual GMA Dove Awards,” said Jackie Patillo, executive director of the Gospel Music Association. “The Doves celebrate the impact of all genres of Gospel music, recognizing talent, ministry and outstanding performances. The excitement and energy of the Dove Awards show is something we all look forward to – and this year will prove to be better than ever.

“We appreciate Lipscomb University hosting our awards, especially as we bring the show back to Music City. It is also an honor to have Mayor Dean be a part of today’s celebration,” continued Patillo.

Out of 42 categories, nominees in 22 of the categories were announced today in Nashville, Tennessee where such dignitaries as Nashville Mayor Karl Dean, Lipscomb University President L. Randolph Lowery, and Nashville’s Convention and Visitor’s Bureau President Butch Spyridon and numerous GMA board members were in attendance. The press conference was hosted by a formidable list of Dove and GRAMMY nominees and past winners including Francesca Battistelli, Jason Crabb, Dailey and Vincent, James Fortune, Mandisa, Rhett Walker, Tenth Avenue North, Lady Shaunte of 760AM The Gospel, Les Butler of Solid Gospel 105FM, Nashville’s 94FM The Fish Doug Griffin and Jaci Velasquez as well as other industry leaders. The GMA Dove Awards, Gospel music’s biggest night of the year, will feature artists from every style of Gospel/Christian music coming together to celebrate the impact of its music.

The 44th Annual GMA Dove Awards will be held on Tuesday, October 15, 2013 at 8:30 p.m. EST with red carpet reception ceremonies starting at 6:30 p.m. EST at Lipscomb University’s Allen Arena in Nashville, Tennessee. The evening will be full of rare and exciting performances showcasing the genre’s hottest, most diverse artists and televised live nationwide exclusively on UP TV.

Salem Communications’ Nashville-based print and radio media outlets (including CCM Magazine, 94FM The Fish and Today’s Christian Music) will offer an unprecedented look inside the Dove Awards, enabling fans a special view inside the industry’s most celebrated event. “We are thrilled to be a partner with the GMA in the 44th Annual GMA Dove Awards and will provide exclusive content across our Christian music networks, publications and Nashville-based radio station. The fans will be able to follow the week of activity and special behind-the-scenes moments like never before” said Michael Miller, Vice President and General Manager of Salem Publishing, Nashville’s 94FM the Fish and Salem Music Network.

“We are deeply rooted in Christ-centered and positive content, always striving to provide a close connection to the artists for the fans. Heartifirst.com is honored to once again partner with the GMA to bring real-time content directly to the fans during the industry’s most treasured event” says Hearitfirst.com General Partner James Ackerman.

Dove Awards will be handed out in 42 categories. The Dove Award nominations go to recordings released during the eligibility period of November 1, 2011through April 30, 2013 and voted on by the members of the GMA. The complete list of nominations is available at www.doveawardsvoting.com/nominees. This year’s press conference was streamed live on www.hearitfirst.com.

Gospel Music Association