Christian Music News

NEEDTOBREATHE Slates New Album for Fall

GRAMMY® Award-nominated, 15-time Dove Award-winning and platinum-certified rock band NEEDTOBREATHE release “Who Am I” as its first new single to Christian radio in over three years. Available beginning today at radio as well as at digital and streaming outlets internationally from Elektra Records / Centricity Music, “Who Am I” is from NEEDTOBREATHE’s seventh studio album Out of Body set to release Aug. 28 and available to preorder now.

The soaring “Who Am I” chorus echoes with an emotionally charged vocal performance that finds NEEDTOBREATHE reinvesting themselves in a childlike wonder that permeates all the new songs on the highly anticipated new album.

“Probably the biggest and most constant struggle I have in my life is being able to accept love. At someplace in my core, it’s hard for me to believe that I’m ever worthy of it, or somehow deserve it,” shares vocalist Bear Rinehart. “‘Who Am I’ is a song about the fight to accept, embrace, and trust that the greatest love requires nothing in return.”

Along with “Who Am I,” NEEDTOBREATHE trio— Rinehart, Seth Bolt [bass, vocals], and Josh Lovelace [keys, vocals]— has released three more songs to date from their forthcoming album, Out of Body. The songs include the ballad “Seasons,” “Survival” (feat. Drew & Ellie Holcomb)” and the American Songwriter and Sounds Like Nashville-acclaimed “Hang On.” The latter song has already been the PGA Tour’s Impact Initiative national campaign soundtrack and featured in the season finale of American Idol. All four songs are available for immediate download with every preorder of the new album.

On Out of Body, NEEDTOBREATHE examines life, family, and friends through a youthful prism. The members take stock of not only two decades as a band, but also first-time fatherhood and the future over a rich soundtrack of soulful rock with stadium-size scope and poetic intimacy. After spending a week at a beach house in Charleston to gather thoughts and ideas, the trio headed to Nashville, to record alongside producers Cason Cooley and Jeremy Lutito. As they cultivated a team atmosphere, the songs organically came to life. (See the band introduce the album and play select songs from the recording acoustically at

Out of Body follows 2016’s H A R D L O V E, which debuted at #1 on the Billboard Top Current Album Sales Chart, and featured the gold-certified title track “Hard Love.”

The full Out of Body track listing follows:
1. Mercy’s Shore
2. Alive
3. Hang On
4. Survival (feat. Drew & Ellie Holcomb)
5. Child Again
6. Out Of Body
7. Who Am I
8. Banks
9. Riding High
10. Bottom of a Heartbreak
11. Seasons

Hoganson Media Relations